The World Encompassed: The First European Maritime Empires, C.800-1650 (University Paperbacks)

Scammell, G.V.

Scammell provides a brief but pithy description of the expansion of nine different European maritime empires: The Norse, the Hanse (aka The Hanseatic League), The Venetian Republic, the Genoese Republic, Portugal, Spain, Holland, France, and England. There maps are detailed enough to match the text, and there is a detailed bibliography on each "empire".

Tag cloud generated by Coginov API
Concepts extracted by AlchemyAPI AlchemyAPI